Life Lessons from the Rodeo

Last week my family and I had the opportunity to celebrate a “first” together– our very first Rodeo.  While a distinctly American past-time, rodeos can’t be found in every community like baseball, and though we thought we knew what we were in for, the reality of the experience far outweighed our expectations!  A true cross between a sporting event and live theatre, the rodeo offers an incredible mix of pageantry and thrills.  As I was to discover, it also provides some really interesting perspectives on life…  You’re certainly free to disagree with my observations here, but I hope you’ll ponder them as I have for the past week.

  • LIFE IS AN ADVENTURE.  We can either be those who live it, or those who watch.  I’m not advocating that we all need to strap ourselves to the back of a bucking bronco, but if we never take risks, are we REALLY living?  By the way, there is a secondary class of watchers– the “posers”.  You know who I mean.  They suit up in their cowboy boots and hats and swagger around with plenty of bravado, yet in the end they remain fearful in their seats while others enter life’s arena.
  • CHILDREN WILL GROW INTO WHAT THEY KNOW. (Or, “a family’s Influence lasts for life!”)  I was absolutely fascinated by the little sheep-riders, the youngest of whom was 4 years old and barefoot!  Clearly these offspring had parents who were rodeo regulars; many of them were contestants themselves.  As a parent the implications are sobering.  What I introduce to my children, or neglect to introduce to my children— horses, music, God– will shape their lives.  Further, for adults who grew up in a damaged environment, it is our responsibility to seek healing for those areas we are at risk of repeating.  For our children’s sake, we must do whatever it takes to break unhealthy patterns and toxic influences.
  • MEN AND WOMEN WERE CREATED DIFFERENTLY. Oh yes we were!! Designed to compliment one another, to be partners, each sex brings unique gifts to the world. Hear me on this one, I grew up in Post-Feminist Movement America;  in no way am I saying either gender is inferior to the other. I just think it’s a shame in our quest to make all things “equal” that we’ve short-changed a beautiful design.  How many young women suffer under the burden of becoming supermom at home and in the workplace?  How many young men struggle within school systems under the misguided notion that they’re supposed to behave like sensitive girls in the classroom?  In the world of Rodeo, the men ride the broncos, and the women are the barrel racers.  Both are very exciting events, but they each require a very special set of skills and strengths.
  • WE CAN HAVE THE BEST SEATS IN THE HOUSE AND STILL MISS THE SHOW. (Or, “don’t let life’s distractions take you from the main thing!”) One lesson from the rodeo I hope I never forget concerns all of the people down on the main level, just outside the arena fencing, waiting in line at Lucky”s Saloon. There they were, within feet of the action, but completely oblivious to it as they waited with their backs turned for that coming treat.  How sad!  I’ve thought about that image quite a bit… What am I missing when I turn all of my attention on getting temporary pleasures?

I know I’ll get comments…but hey,this is my version of a barrel race. 🙂